The gym

Saturday was a miserable day… in more ways than one.

The terrible atrocities had hit us all from the night before when the city of love was bombarded with hatred and violence beyond comprehension.

The world mourns the lives of all those lost in the Paris shootings and all those affected by injuries, living through the horror and having relatives and or friends there.

We cannot begin to understand.

Pray for Paris

(image from Source)

 

The weather on Saturday matched the somber mood.

It was dreadful – all day.

The rain didn’t let up. In fact it became more persistent and wet as the day wore on.

My mood matched it heading into the afternoon.

Eugh and double eugh!!!

Now young MasterB having recently attended an induction at our health club was keen for us to go to the gym. So he could ‘show‘ me how all the equipment works!

To be honest I didn’t want to.

I felt down in the dumps and tired and thought there really could be nothing better than lighting the fire, putting a film on and snuggling. Heaven.

But no, he wasn’t having any of it! I’d promised we’d go and go he wanted.

Ok ok just give me ten minutes to find something to wear!!!

So I got off my rear (which was snuggled on the sofa at the time whilst sipping a nice cup of tea) and pulled myself together.

 

water bottle

For goodness sake my 11 year old tween was dragging ME to the gym! What’s the world come to?

And do you know what? It’s the best thing I could have done.

We had great fun and got a cardiovascular workout at the same time! I’m so proud of him, not only for making me do it, but also for his enthusiasm, determination and motivation. Bless that boy.

I took it slow and steady but do you know what I actually enjoyed it (well when I say I enjoyed it, what I mean is I didn’t hate it).

So I went to the gym for the first time in… well let’s just say it’s been a long time… and all thanks to my lovely boy.

My mood had lifted a little.

I felt good for having gone – go me!

But it comes to something when your 11 year old is the one dragging you out to the gym *hangs head in shame*.

Next time I hope to be the one suggesting a little gym workout – so watch this space!

In the meantime the horror of the events in Paris remain and we can only pray for all those affected.Β  Such an awful time.

Carpe Diem x

10 thoughts on “The gym

  1. I agree that it was really hard to get motivated this weekend after hearing the terrible news. Well done on the tween for heading to the gym. My teen also loves going to the gym where we are members. He heads for a work out with his dad, whilst I get the easier option of swimming with the little lady x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I think everyone’s feeling it Tracey – it’s just so awful to comprehend isn’t it.
      Ahh glad your teen enjoys the gym too – it’s good to get them thinking about health and exercise early on. Glad you get to enjoy a nice leisurely swim.
      Thanks for popping over hun xxx

      Like

I'd love to know if you have any thoughts on this post...

